10 Simple Rules…

Day 6: Exodus 16-28

Going through the Ten Commandments, at first glance it appears that I’m doing alright by the standards of the Ten Commandments in loving God. I prayer, I go to church, I read the Bible, I serve others, but when put under a microscope, past the surface level, I am as sick as they come. I am doing horrible and would probably score a 0 out of 10 on the scoreboard. You don’t have to even put it under a microscope, on the surface I am not living by God’s standards of the Ten Commandments.

I have broken every single commandment. I have put false Gods/idols before God. Anything you do that distracts you from the one true God is an idol. A great read that will convict you even more is Tim Keller’s Counterfeit God’s. TV, work, family, food, etc. Everything that goes before God breaks 1 and 2. So far: 0 for 2. Awesome.

I have taken the Lord’s name in vain, I break the Sabbath and do not have a solid day that is devoted solely to God and keeping it holy. I have a sabbath day that I spend a good portion of the day praying, reading the Bible, and reading other Christian books, but I also add in chores & errands. Now, some might argue that those are things that have to be done and it’s not going against God to do laundry. However, Exodus 20:8-1o says “Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work.” My entire sabbath day is not spent devoted to God so I’m out on that one too. Count: 0 for 4.

Murder. Yes! I have not murdered someone! Yes! Oh wait, well. I haven’t always given money to organizations like Compassion International or Feed My Starving Children when I could have so technically the money I could have given could have saved someone’s life. So… (OK, I’m being a little over the top on this one for illustrations sake. But stay with me.) Adultery. I have not physically cheated on my wife, but I have checked out other women so I have cheated on her heart. I have stolen stuff by not returning it to it’s rightful owner, whether a pen or a CD that never makes it back. I’ve lied. I’ve coveted other’s possessions. Final score: 0 for 10.

What the amazing thing is that we all are sinners. We all have broken God’s Commandments. The most amazing thing is that our God is a gracious God and thousands of years after giving these Commandments to Moses, God sent his Son to die on a cross so that we would have a chance to live. Since we are all sinners, we have ruined our chances at heaven since “the wages of sin is death.” (Romans 6:23) Our only way to get to the Father in heaven is through His son, Jesus Christ. Belief in Christ is our only way to heaven.

I am a sinner. I work hard every day not to sin against God. I try to lead the best life that I can, but the truth is, I am going to sin again and again and again. Even though I am going to sin at some point in the day, week, month, year, I try to lead a Christ filled life. I try to embrace God with all my heart and ask for his forgiveness through belief in His son, Jesus Christ. Even though on my personal scorecard I am 0 for 10, in God’s eyes we are all 10 for 10 if we believe in His son with all that we have.  I hope that you work hard to love God and love His son, Jesus Christ as well.

Leave a Reply

