His Steadfast Love

I feel like Jonah often. Whether I have fully heard the audible voice of God or not, I feel that I don’t listen enough and I run away from the things that God commands of me. In our go, go, go culture, I feel convicted that I don’t slow, slow, slow myself enough to fully appreciate the awesome power of God. As Jonah is running away from God and even after he has been thrown from the ship and is in the belly of a fish, he still prays. He slows himself enough, calms himself enough to pray to God. God found a way to slow Jonah to listen. He does the same thing to us. Whether we listen to God then or not is a whole other issue.

The lines that stuck out most to me in this entire book of Jonah are 2:8-9 – ‘Those who pay regard to vain idols forsake their hope of steadfast love. But I with the voice of thanksgiving will sacrifice to you; what I have vowed I will pay. Salvation belongs to the Lord.’ WOW. I read this a few times and just was blown away. As I currently sit on my computer typing, with the World Cup on in the back ground, it is easy for me to see all the vain idols that I surround myself with. I forsake His steadfast love every single day. My prayer is that through everything that occurs in my day, good or bad, I allow myself to fully hear the voice of God finding His steadfast love through all my surroundings.

Leave a Reply

