Knowledge of His Will

I’ve been reading through Colossians this week and this is a book that is just filled with unbelievable writing. Paul’s letter to Colossi is one of love, but from an honest heart of concern. Right from the start, Paul just hits me hard. Paul says in 1:9 ‘And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God.’

WOW! I read this and I am just humbled all around. The first thing that just hits me hard is that Paul and company have not stopped praying about the people of Colossi since they heard about them believing in Christ Jesus. The second thing that is just as huge is that as they are continuously praying, their prayers are incredibly rich. Paul is praying that they are filled with the knowledge of His [God] will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding. This just blows me away every time I read it. What an amazing prayer! So specific. So passionate. So clear.

This passage blows me away in a way that is humbling, as well as gut wrenching. When I pray for other people, my prayers are so surface level in comparison. “God, please bless them to know you…” “God, please help them see you as they grow…” And I could go on and on. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think there is anything wrong with me praying in this manner. The fact is that when I do pray for someone else, in comparison, it is very surface level and short, and definitely not continuous by any means. My hope is that I can use Paul’s example and be more passionate and more direct with my prayers for others and really asking God that these people are filled with knowledge of His will. I think that would be an incredible prayer to pray continuously for all of us.

Leave a Reply

