Not Ashamed of Him

Do you ever have those moments where you hide a truth about yourself? We all hide different things about ourselves, sometimes without even knowing it. One thing that I used to be really self-conscious about years ago was praying in public. I usually got nervous about praying in public because I didn’t want to offend someone, or make someone else uneasy because of my beliefs. But I’ve come to realize that when I did this, I was basically saying to Christ that I was ashamed of what I believe. I didn’t have enough confidence in my faith to show my devotion to Christ in public, and I used the excuse of offending or upsetting someone else.  Do you ever have times like this?

I have come to realize that the Bible is offensive. It is going to offend people because it goes against culture. This is a great offense though. If we truly love Jesus as our savior, it should lead us to profess our love for Him loudly in all settings. Now, don’t go running through a library yelling. I simply mean that no matter where, what, or when we are doing something, we should never, ever be ashamed to give glory to God. Luke 9:26 says, “If anyone is ashamed of me and my words, the Son of Man will be ashamed of him when he comes in his glory and in the glory of the Father and the holy angels.” When we are more willing to not glorify God, but concern ourselves with the world and culture around us, we have no part in God’s kingdom. Sound harsh? How about from God’s perspective when we don’t honor Him? When we are more concerned about the culture, or offending people or whatever the excuse might be to not honor God, we are saying to Him that we are ashamed of Him, and don’t care enough about Him to live our lives glorifying Him when we are around people. My challenge is that we can all show our love for Christ at all times, and not just on a Sunday morning, or privately at home, but at all times. If we act like two different people, we are doing so because we are ashamed of our faith whether you would admit it or not. If you are ashamed of God, He will be just as ashamed of you back.

Go praise Him and glorify Him at all times in your day.

 

Leave a Reply

