One Year Experiment – Week 1 Update

In regards to my One Year Experiment, I will plan on updating my blog each week on Wednesday to talk about my One Year Experiment, and what I’ve done and learned in the past week. Here is an update on what I’ll be doing for a year, and I want to go more indepth below on a few areas since I still need some suggestions:

  1. Memorize the names of every country, world capital, and current president or prime minister in the world.
  2. Read the basic texts of the major world religions: the Torah, the New Testament, the Koran, and the teachings of Buddha. Visit a church, a mosque, a synagogue, and a temple
  3. Subscribe to a language-learning podcast and listen to each 20-minute episode five times a week for the entire year.
  4. Loan money to an entrepreneur through Kiva.org.
  5. Acquire at least three new skills during your year.
  6. Read at least 30 nonfiction books and 20 classic novels.
  7. Join a gym or health club to keep fit during your rigorous independent studies.
  8. Become comfortable with basic presentation and public speaking skills.
  9. Blog, create a basic posting schedule, and stick with it for the entire year.
  10. Set my home page to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special:Randompage. Over the next year, every time you open your browser, you’ll see a different, random Wikipedia page.
  11. Learn to write by listening to the Grammar Girl podcast on iTunes and buying Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott.
  12. Instead of reading the entire Encyclopedia Britannica, read The Know-It-All by A. J. Jacobs, a good summary.
– In order to learn every country, capital and state leader, I will be using the websites: http://www.lizardpoint.com/fun/geoquiz/index.html & https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/world-leaders-1/index.html.
– I’m still looking at language learning podcasts, but iTunes University has made it easier. I’m thinking of doing Arabic or something fun.
– I still need help with the skills section. I can’t think of 3 skills that I will realistically have the time to learn and take the time to enjoy. I was thinking of combining working out with the skill of running. I think running is a skill. If you do run, you would probably agree. If you don’t, you don’t get an opinion. Running is my first skill. I should sign up for a race. How about a 5k, 10k and half-marathon for 2011? Too much? Probably but let’s go! I need 2 others then. Give me your opinions/thoughts.
– My book list is almost finished. I will post it.
Any encouragement that you have for me would be great. Setting my homepage to Wikipedia Random has been fun already, and I’ve been listening to Grammar Girl and The Economist (I’m not sure where The Economist fits in, but it’s fun to learn)
Charge!
Leave a Reply

