Utilizing My Time in 2013

There are only 24 hours in a day. There is no way for you to change that (daylight savings, maybe). We each have the exact same amount of time each day/week/month/year. I’ve come to realize that I don’t use much of my “free” time to the best of my abilities. I want to change that in the next year.

A friend of mine showed me something that inspired me. He said he could not afford graduate school at this time, so he wanted to take advantage of the opportunity of self-guided learning opportunities. As soon as I saw what he was doing, I told him I was in. My wife also said that she is in, at least for some parts of it. Here is what I am embarking on for 2013. I will be updating my blog each week to report what I’ve done, what I’ve learned, and what I failed at doing. 70-80 hours of my week are already spoken for between work and seminary, but I want to be better at time management. Instead of using my time as a grad school like experience, I want to use mine to utilize my time the best and to grow in all areas that I can.

  1. Read through the entirety of Scripture 3 times.
  2. Listen to How Stuff Works and Stuff I Missed in History Class on my way to and from work. This will help grow my knowledge of basic historical elements and areas of common knowledge.
  3. Listen to a language learning podcast a few times a week to grow in my knowledge of a foreign language.
  4. Give to those that ask. When opportunities to give come to us, we should consider them and give.
  5. Go on a weekly Date Night with my wife. We have been very consistent in this the past few years, but I want to become even more intentional in my time with Britt.
  6. Become more handy. Learn basic home maintenance and repair.
  7. Read at least 30 nonfiction books and 20 classic novels. (There will be plenty more reading done as well)
  8. Find 2 more mentor/coaches to meet with either monthly or more frequently. Grow from their experiences and knowledge with them.
  9. Continue running. I ran my first Half-Marathon in 2012, and I’d like to follow that by doing either 2 Halfs or a full marathon in the Fall.
  10. Practice piano at least 30-60 minutes a week.
  11. Become comfortable with basic presentation and public speaking skills. Consider joining Toastmasters.
  12. Blog, create a basic posting schedule, and stick with it for an entire month (baby steps) and hopefully longer.
  13. Set my home page to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special:Randompage. I already do this, but I want to continue as it allows me to view and read about a wide range of random topics.
  14. Improve in my ability to write by listening to the Grammar Girl podcast and reading Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott.
  15. Instead of reading the entire Encyclopedia Britannica, read The Know-It-All by A. J. Jacobs, a good summary.
There it is. That is a lot to do along with full-time work, full-time seminary and spending quality time with my wife. But I have complete confidence in my ability to try. If I don’t try, I’ve already failed. Tomorrow I will post my book lists, and will continue to think about the skills and podcast options. Any thoughts or words of encouragement that you have, please let me know.
Leave a Reply

