Book List – 2013

As I am one week in to Utilizing my Time in 2013 I have put together my reading list for 2013 and I am excited to jump in. My goal each year is to read 60 books across many different topics and fields. I will read plenty of other books outside this list, but here is what I will be focusing on this year to round myself better. My wife gave me the fiction list saying these are the books that everyone should read at some point in their life or should have read in school. Let me know what you think:

Book Lists
Fiction
1. Cat’s Cradle
2 Fahrenheit 451
3. Their Eyes Were Watching God
4. Harry Potter
5. Brave New World
6. Catcher in the Rye
7. Clockwork Orange
8. The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe
9. The Hobbit
10. The Road
11. The Sound and the Fury
12. Things Fall Apart
13. To the Lighthouse
14. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
15. Catch 22
16. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
17. The Handmaid’s Tale
18. Time Traveler’s Wife
19. The Poisonwood Bible
20. The Princess Bride
21. The Things They Carried
22. The Curious Incident of a Dog in the Nighttime
23. A Wrinkle in Time
24. The Lord of the Rings
25. The Kite Runner
26. Life of Pi
27. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
28. Q &A
29. Screwtape Letters
30. Atlas Shrugged

Non-Fiction
1. Confessions – Augustine
2. Thomas Merton Essential Writings
3. Summa – Thomas Aquinas
4. Good to Great – Jim Collins
5. God is Not Great – Christopher Hitchens
7. Sacred Marriage – Gary Thomas
8. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance
9. The Prince – Machiavelli
10. Switch – Dan Heath
11. How to Win Friends and Influence People – Dale Carnegie
12.  Across the Spectrum – Greg Boyd
13. Humilitas – John Dickson
14. Tribes – Seth Godin
15. Bonhoeffer : pastor, martyr, prophet, spy – Eric Metaxas
16. Discovering the Will of God – Gerry Sisster
17. Mere Christianity – C.S. Lewis
18. Wealth of Nations – Adam Smith
19. Equiping Counselors for your Church – Robert Kelleman
20. Inside Terrorism – Bruce Hoffman

2 thoughts on “Book List – 2013

  1. Atlas Shrugged is a bit of slog – might be worth just reading the Wikipedia page. I’d consider adding “H.G. Wells ‘Time Machine’ ” to the list.

    A good “church” read is “I Sold My Soul On Ebay”. An atheist, raised originally as a Jain, visits a bunch of Chicago area churches and takes notes of what may attract or repel visitors. Shares his results with the churches as well. Originally conceived as a fund-raiser, and posted as a series of blogs before being assembled as a (small) book.

Leave a Reply

