A Little Bit of Reading Goes A Long Way

One of my ongoing goals for each year is to read 60 books in the year. I put together a reading list, non-fiction and fiction, for each year, and I get to work. One of the books I read last year had a chapter that focused on the importance of reading to our lives, and how this has become an area of neglect to many leaders and people. Here is a paragraph that I have continued to return to see the power of reading even for just a little bit each day.

Suppose you read slowly, say about 250 words a minute (as I do). This means that in twenty minutes you can read about five thousand words. An average book has about four hundred words to a page. So you could read about twelve-and-a-half pages in twenty minutes. Suppose you discipline yourself to read a certain author or topic twenty minutes a day, six days a week, for a year. That would be 312 times 12.5 pages for a total of 3,900 pages. Assume that an average book is 250 pages long. This means you could read fifteen books like that in one year. (Piper, Brothers We Are Not Professionals, 80)

Reading makes a difference in who we are and how we grow as people. I firmly believe that leaders are readers and readers are leaders. Over the next 50 days I am going to challenge myself to read at a minimum of 20 minutes a day to get this pattern placed into my day now as life will never have a time period that will be slower and any easier to start a habit.

Consider making this a goal for yourself as well and join me.

 

Leave a Reply

