Respectable Sins – Quotes

I want to start a new thing on my blog. I often write book reviews, and I usually read book reviews to get an overview of a book that I’m interested in reading that I will probably never have the time to read or to make the decision if I will actually take the time to read. One thing that I wish I had often were the best quotes from books I was interested in reading to help me in this as well, and I thought why don’t I do this as well.

So what I’m going to try to do about once a week or so is to copy some of the most notable quotes that I have found in some of the most influential books in my life over the past few years. If that interests you, great! If it doesn’t interest you, great! So here we go.

I first read Jerry Bridge’s Respectable Sins with my Community Group back 3 or so years ago. At the time, this book was very popular in our church and it was incredibly convicting to me at the time. Bridge’s wrote this book in order to show how Christians become so focused on ‘major’ sins in society but how they are entirely tolerate and allow many subtle sins in their lives and in the lives of other people. He wanted to look at what are some of the respectable or acceptable sins today. Here are some of t he most influential quotes that struck me from Respectable Sins.

  • We can readily identify sin in the immoral or unethical conduct of people in society at large. But we often fail to see it in what I call the “acceptable sins of the saints.” In effect, we, like society at large, live in denial of our sin. (16)
  • Strong biblical words for sin have been excised from our vocabulary. People no longer commit adultery; instead they have an affair. Corporate executives do not steal; they commit fraud. (19)
  • The truth is, all sin is serious because all sin is a breaking of God’s law. (20)
  • It is not enough to honestly face our sin. If we are to grow in Christlike character, we must also deal with it. (35)
  • Even on what seems like our very best days, we still need to preach the gospel to ourselves. The truth is, there is never a day in our lives when we are so “good” we don’t need the gospel. (37)
  • Whatever in our lives is not like Jesus is sin. (70)
  • Whatever situation tempts us to be discontent, and however severe it may be, we need to recognize that discontentment is sin. (73)
  • How often do we stop to give thanks to Him? (81)
  • We can be orthodox in our theology and circumspect in our morality and yet tolerate in our lives some of the subtle “acceptable” sins. (101)
  • Every sin we commit, regardless of how insignificant it seems to us, is an assault on His infinite glory. (137)
  • No corrupting talk. None whatsoever. This means no gossip, no sarcasm, no critical speech, no harsh words. (160)

 

Leave a Reply

