For the Love: Fighting for Grace in a World of Impossible Standards

I’m only a few pages into Jen Hatmaker’s new book, For the Love: Fighting for Grace in a World of Impossible Standardsand I’ve already highlighted and starred the majority of the Introduction. This is always a good sign for the next 200 some pages to come in a book! So I wanted to share of few of the paragraphs that have already hit me, and encourage you to buy/borrow this book.

God has always made the most sense to me through people, His image bearers. I crave dignity and healing and purpose and freedom for me and mine, you and yours, them and theirs. I want us to live well and love well. The substance of life isn’t stuff or success or work or accomplishments or possessions. It really isn’t, although we devote enormous energy to those goals. The fullest parts of my life, the best memories, the most satisfying peices of my story have always involved people. Conversely, nothing hurts worse or steals more joy than broken relationships. We can heal and hurt each other, and we do.

I see a generation of people ON THE HOOK. Man, we are tough on one another, starting with ourselves. When Jesus said to “love your neighbor as yourself,” I don’t think He meant judmentally; but that is exactly how we treat our own souls, so it bleeds out to others. Folks who thrive in God’s grace give grace easily, but the self-critical person becomes others-critical. We “love” people the way we “love” ourselves, and if we are not good enough, then no one is. (Kindle Loc. 184)

Whoa. Great stuff right from the start! I’ve heard incredible things about this book, and I’m looking forward to diving deeper into it. We absolutely need to have more grace for ourselves and therefore have more grace for others. Check out For the Love today.

Leave a Reply

